RHEINBERGER, Josef Gabriel (1839-1901)

Faksimileausgabe des Klaviertrios Nr. 2 in A op.112 nach der autographen Partitur in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München mit
einem Nachwort von Harald Wanger

[Trio, piano, strings, no.2, op.112, A major]

Rheinberger, Piano Trio, op.112
detail of page

Stuttgart, 1996. 4°, 59 pp. This enigmatic composer, mostly remembered today only for his organ compositions, is an important contemporary of Wagner and Brahms, and a teacher of Humperdinck, Wolf-Ferrari, George Chadwick and Wilhelm Furtwangler. Interestingly he did little to publicize his compositions in his lifetime and in many cases it was due to the vigorous initiative of his wife Fanny that a work was sent to a publisher. Fortunately the newly launched Complete Edition of the Works of Rheinberger (Carus-Verlag) will remedy this situation. The present facsimile edition, a part of this series, is based on the fair copy autograph housed at the Baravian State Library in Munich, one of two important repositories of Rheinberger's music. The Piano Trio No. 2, a highly original work dating from 1878, is classical in structure and romantic in character with many eclectic qualities lacking in of the music of his German contemporaries. The piece has many wonderful moments, the minuet section is a “lovers duet” between the strings while the piano provides the underpinning with a light flowing texture. Handsome blue linen binding with signature of Rheinberger in gold. $97   (view other volumes from our gifts page)

Rheinberger, Piano Trio, op.112, cover
distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946 • www.omifacsimiles.com • immels@earthlink.net