MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791

The Mozart Violin Concerti. A Facsimile Edition of the Autographs. Edited and with an Introduction by Gabriel Banat

[Concertos, violin, orch, K.207, 211, 216, 218, & 219, Adagio in E, K.261, & Rondo in B, K.216a]

Mozart, Violin Concertos (complete)

"There is probably no more pleasant and productive way to deepen and enrich one's understanding of a piece of music than a thorough and careful study of the composer's autograph... Among the features of an autograph that a musician might find especially enlightening are the expressive character of the composer's hand, his departures from conventions of notation, and traces of his mistakes, second thoughts, and corrections. Handwriting is an expressive gesture, akin to speech, singing, or playing an instrument. Compared to the composer's autograph, even the most beautiful printed score is like a waxwork figure compared to a living, breathing person." Carl Schachter, Review of Mozart - The Five Violin Concertos: A Facsimile Edition of the Autographs. The Strad, June, 1987, 446-51.

Mozart Violin Concertos


Mineola, 2015. Oblong, 32 x 26 cm, 29, 400 pp. Unabridged republication of the 1986 Raven Press facsimile. Monochrome halftone of the composer’s autographs held in libraries in Krakow, Washington, DC, and Berlin. Red cloth with composer’s signature embossed in gold on the cover. $75
ISBN 978-1-60660-059-7

(view other Mozart facsimiles)

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946 • •