MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791

Die Violinkonzerte. Faksimiles der Autographen

[Mss. Jagiellonian University Library, Krakow; Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. & Staatsbibliothek Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Berlin]

[Concerti, violin, orch, complete]

The solo violin's entry, 1st movt, Concerto in G Major,  K.216

Frankfurt, 1991. Oblong, 31 x 24 cm, 400 pp. Halftone (in sepia color) of the autograph scores, reproduced from originals scattered among three different libraries (Biblioteka Jagiellońska - Krakow, Library of Congress - Washington, DC, and the Staatsbibliothek Preußischer Kultur Besitz - Berlin). Includes all 5 violin concerti, K.207, 211, 216, 218, & 219, plus the Adagio in E (K.261) and the Rondo in B-flat (K.216a).
Mozart, Violin Concertos, cover
As the Köchel numbers imply, all the concertos were written within a relatively short time span—1775. In a letter to his father dated Oct. 1777 he gives a brief account of a performance in which he himself played the solo: "In the evening at supper I played my Strasbourg Concerto [K.218], which went like oil. Everyone praised my beautiful pure tone". In the score the soloist doubles the first violin part and plays the melodic solo while the other string parts become an accompaniment. This complete facsimile edition of all the violin concertos is a perfect gift for any Mozart lover. Limited edition of 1000 copies. Handsome binding in dark blue linen with Mozart's signature embossed in gold. SOLD OUT. Click this link for a new facsimile edition

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel 212/ 758-1946 • •