Mozart, Gran Partita, K.461

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula
PO Box 6019
FDR Station
New York NY 10150

Available again in Facsimile
W.A. Mozart
 Gran Partita, K.361

Serenade for 13 wind instruments in Bb Major


Gran Partita, K. 361 by Wolfgang
Amadeus Mozart.
A Facsimile of the Holograph
in the
Whittall Foundation Collection.
With an Introduction by Alfred Einstein.

[Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.]

Chicago, 2008. xiv,  98 pp. Oblong, 35 x 27 cm. Reissue” of Library of Congress 1976 facsimile edition using new full-color digital photography. The autograph score dates from c.1780. Known as the “Great Wind Serenade” or “Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments”, this brilliant 7-movement piece is Mozart’s first great work composed in Vienna. Scored for 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 basset horns, 2 pairs of horns, 2 bassoons and a contrabass, Mozart exploits all the possible mixtures of sonorities—no instrument is treated in true concertante fashion, but rather each instrument strives to distinguish itself, true to it own character. The beautifully crafted serenade—intimate, cheerful, witty and symphonic in style—was obviously written to impress and “open doors” in the composer’s new city. New (second) introduction by Richard Floyd. Handsome two-tone cloth binding with signature of composer embossed in silver. $95

(view other facsimile editions of W.A. Mozart)

tel/fax 212/ 758-1946

Mozart, Gran Partita K.361