Fragments of English Polyphonic Music c.1390-1475

A Facsimile Edition
Edited by Margaret Bent & Andrew Wathey


Fragments of English Polyphonic Music


This long-awaited volume contains fragments of English polyphonic music from the 1390s to the 1470s. Like the previous facsimile volume (EECM57) it has a large page format maximizing the number of manuscripts that can be reproduced at full size; color reproduction conveys the syntax of late-medieval notation, particularly the use of red notation; page-turns follow the recto-verso arrangement of the original MSS far as possible; extensive image editing restores a degree of legibility to much-degraded MSS. The MSS reproduced here include the famous Coventry Caput Mass, vestiges of a royal choirbook virtually reassembled by Bent and a systematic investigation by Wathey of the Beverley fragments. Although fragmentary, these 15th-century sources, containing music by Dunstable, Power, Plummer and their contemporaries, attest to the vitality of the English polyphonic tradition as it neared its pre-Reformation zenith. Buckram.

London: Stainer & Bell, 2022 
Volume 62 of Early English Church Music 
  30 x 43 cm, 78, 306 pp, buckram.  $265 

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946