BRAHMS, Johannes, 1833-1897

Trio für Pianoforte, Clarinette und Violoncell, Opus 114
Faksimile des Autographs und Werkbericht von Alfons Ott

[M12, Städtische Musikbibliothek München]

[Trio, piano, clarinet, violoncello, op.114, A minor]

detail of opening page
Tutzing, 1958. Oblong, 35 x 27 cm, 14, 32 pp. Outstanding halftone of the elegant 1891 autograph score. Clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld (b.1856), a soloist and chamber virtuoso with the Meininger Hofkapelle, gave Brahms the impetus to write this beautiful Trio, whose composition is also closely tied with the Clarinet Quintet, op.115. The work premiered on 24. Nov. 1891, played directly from the manuscript, Brahms at the piano and Mühlfeld and Robert Hausmann respectively playing clarinet and cello. This facsimile represents the publishing debut of the venerable music publisher Dr. Hans Schneider. Handsome bibliophile edition of 800 copies bound in grey linen with ivory colored boards. $60    
Brahms, Trio for Piano, Clarinet & Violoncello op.114, cover

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946 • •