Ludwig van Beethoven

Beethoven’s “Eroica” Sketchbook. A Critical Edition. Transcribed,
Edited, and with a Commentary by Lewis Lockwood and Alan Gosman
Volume 1: Facsimile; Volume 2: Transcription, Commentary, Inventory

[sketchbook, "Landsberg 6"]

Beethoven. "Eroica" Sketchbook (Landsberg 6)

Sample pages: Manuscript - Modern Transcription

Beethoven Sketchbook Series, [2]. Champaign, 2013. Oblong,4°, 2 vols. Complete halftone reproduction and critical edition of the MS, currently in Kraków at the Biblioteka Jagiellońska (formerly Berlin, Staatsbibliothek, Mus. ms. aut. Beethoven Landsberg 6). Once known as “Notierungsbuch E”, Landsberg 6 is perhaps Beethoven’s most famous sketchbook due in part to Nottebohm’s 1880 monograph on this source. This sketchbook documents Beethoven's creative work from sometime late in 1802 until early in 1804, a transformative period in his artistic career. The most significant sketches are those for the “Eroica” Symphony, op.55, the “Waldstein” Sonata, op.53, and for the first five numbers of the opera Leonore as produced in 1805 (later revised and renamed Fidelio). Hardbound. $200


distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula
PO Box 6019 FDR Station
New York NY 10150



tel/fax 212/ 758-1946

Beethoven. "Eroica" Sketchbook (Landsberg 6), cover