Johann Sebastian Bach:
The Well-Tempered Clavier


Das wohltemperirte Clavier (1722-1723)

Bach, WTC 1

Bach, WTC 2
Bach, WTC, cover

Preludes and Fugues Book One
The Well-Tempered Clavier I. BWV 846-869 [Deutsche Staatsbibliothek,
 Berlin, mus. ms. aut. P. 415]

Preludes and Fugues Book Two
The Well-Tempered Clavier II. BWV 870-893 [British Library, Add. MS 35021]

Allans Publishing Pty. Melbourne, 1986
2 vols,  I: 153 + 90 pp; II: 170 + 87 pp.
Together with modern edition, historical introduction and analysis by Warren Thompson. Softbound.

Book One:  $49
Book Two:  $49

Halftone reproduction of the surviving autograph manuscripts. Book One is a “working copy”, believed to have been copied during Bach’s last year in Cöthen; Book Two is a fair copy containing 21 of the 24 preludes and fugues (all the music is in the hand of the composer with the exception of the preludes and fugues in C minor, D minor, E major and G major and part of the F major prelude which are in the hand of Anna Magdalena Bach). The two books together represent a culmination of 20 years of development and maturation. Although endeavors by masters based on similar musical designs exist, Bach's work surpasses them all in logic, format and quality.

distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula
PO Box 6019 FDR Station New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946 • •