BACH, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750

6 Suites a Violoncello Solo senza Basso. BWV 1007-1012. Herausgegeben von Bettina Schwemer, Douglas Woodfull-Harris

[Suites, violoncello, BWV 1007-1012]

Bach, 6 Suites a Violoncello BWV 1007-1012

detail from Prelude (Suite. no.1), source "D"
6 Suites a Violoncello BWV 1007-1012, cover

(view other volumes from this series)
Kassel, 2000. 4º, 7 vols, 95, 41, 200 pp. The bible” for students of the Bach Cello Suites. New full-size line-cut reproductions of source A, B, C, D, plus the Paris 1st edition [Janet et Cotelle, c.1824]. The first two are in the hand of Anna Magdalena Bach and Johann Peter Kellner, 1727-1731 and 1726 respectively, and as such, are the most autoritative. Source C (2nd half of 18th c.) comes from the estate of Johann Christoph Westphal, a Hamburg organist, printer and music dealer. Source D, or “Traeg” MS, is named after Johann Traeg, a Vienese art and music dealer who once owned it. As none of the sources derive directly from the now lost autograph nor from each other, they all have a special importance in the textual tradition of the suites. A close comparison discloses significant textual discrepancies, sometimes the result of accidental slips, and at others, true alternative readings. Includes new urtext edition and critical notes. Wrappers, with portfolio case. $65


distributed by:

OMI - Old Manuscripts & Incunabula PO Box 6019 FDR Station, New York NY 10150
tel/fax 212/ 758-1946 • •